Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jude31

Canned Tomato Salsa

jude31
12 years ago

I have been making Annie's Salsa for a few years and love it. I ran across this recipe that has the option of roasting the tomatoes and uses roasted Anaheim peppers. I think it would be interesting to see what roasting some of the veggies adds to the taste. A lot of the recipe is similar to Annie's and to my untrained eye it looks safe. I would like the opinion of those more expert eyes.

jude

Canned Tomato Salsa Recipe

Prep time: 20 minutes Cook time: 45 minutes

Before starting, prepare your workspace so that it is clean and uncluttered. If you don't want to roast your own green chiles, you can sub with about two 7-ounce cans of green chiles, chopped. This recipe uses specific amounts of ingredients, balancing the non-acidic ingredients with the amount of added acid needed to make the recipe safe. Do not increase the amount of green chiles beyond 1 1/2 cups, or decrease the amount of tomatoes less than 7 cups.

Ingredients

5 lbs of tomatoes

1 lb large Anaheim green chiles (5-6 chiles)

3 jalapeno chilies, seeded and stems removed, chopped

1 1/2 cups chopped onion

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup apple cider vinegar

1/2 cup loosely packed fresh chopped cilantro (including stems)

2 teaspoons dried oregano

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

2 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons sugar

Canning equipment needed:

5 to 6 pint-sized canning jars, with rings and new lids

A very large stockpot or canning pot (16-qt)

A flat steamer rack on which to place the filled jar for the water bath canning, so that they don't touch the bottom of the pan and crack from excess heat

Canning equipment recommended:

Canning tongs to make it easy to lift the jars in and out of boiling water

Rubber or latex coated gardening gloves to make it easier on your hands for handling hot jars

Method