Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
booberry85

Mes Confitures - Your Recommendations

booberry85
13 years ago

Hello Everyone,

It's been quite some time since I've posted here. I'm still around and still canning. I just bought myself a copy of Mes Confitures. What do you recommend making? Are there any hints, tips, tricks (or ways of cheating)? I'm concerned about making all that green apple jelly for the pectin. Is there something else I can use (Certo or Sure gel or will that ruin the recipe)?

I'm not a newbie when it comes to making jellies and jams but have a limited portfolio of what I do well (grape jam, apple pie jam, habanero gold, hot pepper jelly, kiwi daiquiri jam, and raspberry pomegranate jelly). Any help & suggestions would be greatly appreciated

Comments (38)

• readinglady
    13 years ago

Certo and Surejell require a different ratio of sugar so I wouldn't try to substitute.

You might begin with the recipes that don't require green apple pectin. There are a lot in her book that don't and you can build a good repertoire without using it. The peach preserves, for instance, are wonderful.

Carol

• joannaw
    13 years ago

I loved, loved, loved the two kinds of apricot with vanilla and gewurtztraminer. Also the peach and raspberry with cardamom. Am trying to decide which of the pear recipes I should make now that the first pears are showing up at the market...

No tips, really, other than that you should peel the plums even though she doesn't say to (and perhaps not peel the apricots even though she does say to).

• jude31
    13 years ago