Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheila83_gw

Harvesting potatoes

sheila83
10 years ago

This is my first year planting Potatoes. I pulled a few new potatoes about a month ago and they were DELICIOUS! the problem I'm having at the moment is that the plants seem to be dying back now and it feels a little early to be harvesting. HELP!

Comments (12)

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

Your plants will decide when THEY are ready. Let them die, unless they look disease ridden, they are probably just ready. Plants only last so long and when their time is up, they die.

It does seem early, but lots of things are signaling that fall may come early. We had a night low of 49 last night and that wasn't a record. Tonight is supposed to be that low again. Fall is coming whether we like it or not.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

And just because the plants die back - assuming the weather is the cause rather than lack of nutrients - it doesn't mean you have to harvest them right now. Especially if the ground is wet don't dig them. They can remain in place for weeks unless heavy rain or a hard frost is predicted. In your zone you would want to heavily mulch them if frost is coming.

Be sure to read up on how to cure and store them before digging.

Dave

• pqtex
    10 years ago

I'm in southeast Texas, and our potatoes were harvested in June. I read that when the leaves start dying back, it's time to start harvesting them. I think that leaving them I the ground would invite pests and rot. I cured them on a covered screened porch with fans for ventilation. I canned some right away, and canned the rest after a couple of months. I could have kept more for fresh storage, but didn't.

• txtom50
    10 years ago

Leaving potatoes in the ground is not an option if you have fire ants.

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago