Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anoid1

Mason Golden Harvest jars, any good?

anoid1
15 years ago

I just purchased a bunch of pint and quart "Golden Harvest" jars at Wal Mart. They were really pretty, like the Italian Four Seasons jars [ just what I wanted ] and cheap! I had never seen them, even while web searching for jars, so when I got home I did a search. There was a thread that linked to Gardenweb [ should have known ] , that told of problems with breakage. I guess these are Balls price point jars. Should I even bother using them, or just take them back and get the old tried and true.

Comments (35)

• shirleywny5
    15 years ago

I love Golden Harvest Jars. I have been using them for well over 10 years. I have never had a failure with them. So, go ahead and use them without fear. If you follow directions for prepping jars and proper canning methods, you will not have a problem. Some folks heat jars in the oven. This is not recommended. They do it anyway. Golden Harvest jars are made for canning so go ahead and use them.

• nosnowtn
    15 years ago

The Golden Harvest jars ARE the low price point of Ball, Bernardin, Kerr, Etc. They are now all owned and manufactured by the same company. The only complaint I have with them is that they screw the rings right onto the flat lids and then cryovac or heat seal the whole package together. I usually remove the flats, put them in a baggie, and write a date on them. Wait 2-3 weeks, process as usual and you should get a normal seal. As far as breakage goes, I haven't ever had an issue with that, they seem just as strong as the 30-40 year old jars I'm sill using.

• zeuspaul
    15 years ago

Golden Harvest quarts are slightly larger than the Kerr jars at our local Walmart. It is an issue in some canners because seven Golden Harvest jars don't fit in some pressure canners.

I have been buying the Kerr because I assume they will also go to the larger quarts.

Zeuspaul

• digdirt2
    15 years ago