Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
daria_gw

What to do with overdone jam?

daria
17 years ago

I made blackberry jam last night, using the Ball Blue Book's "no-pectin" recipe. I tried following their spoon instructions regarding "sheeting", but clearly did something wrong, because my finished product is very rubbery. I'm no novice to making candy and fudge but I'd never cooked down jam before, so apparently I missed something - and of course the cookbook didn't recommend a specific temperature, so I could not go by my handy dandy candy thermometer.

Is there anything I can do to "fix" the jam? Any ideas for what I can do with it? My husband said "it tastes like sweet potatoes" so I have a feeling that the sugar caramelized a tiny bit.

Darn it, I'd hoped I would at least have the jam to enjoy after all my scratches heal! :)

Comments (41)

• dgkritch
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

You can always heat it just a little when you use it.
    Or make thumprint cookies...........it'll make a lot so you can send some to me!! :+)
    Sorry, not much help, but it's hard to UNcook it.
    Did you try just stirring it up really well before use?
    I like my jam rather thick so it doesn't drip off the toast.
    Deanna

• daria
    Original Author
    17 years ago

My husband was the guinea pig and tried it this morning. I just made the jam yesterday so I have a feeling if it's this rubbery now, it's not going to get any better. I prefer thicker jam too, but "chewy" is probably not good. Maybe I can make it into candy...

It might be good in cookies though! :) I could try that!

I know, you can't uncook things - which is really too bad. Life should come with an undo button like my computer does!

• annie1992
    17 years ago

daria, I've had some trouble with overcooked jam too, ending up with some lovely pear "taffy" last year.