Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
callousedknees

first year canning - cold or hot pack tomatoes?

callousedknees
17 years ago

This is my first year canning... so far I have made 12 pts. of bread and butter jalapenoes, 12 half pts. of 5 pepper jelly, and the most popular 11 qts. and 7 pts. of Annie's famous salsa. Everything has turned out great but the jelly that hasn't set yet. All of you have been so much help to me. I'm getting ready to do tomatoes and I want to know the pros and cons of cold packing them vs. hot pack. I am going to follow the directions at the NCHFP as suggested, but wondered what your opinions are. Thank you so much for all your help!

Comments (15)

• shirleywny5
    17 years ago

I prefer to cold pack the tomatoes in their own juice and HWB. I have two canners so I don't mind that it takes 90 minutes. My end product looks much better than the tomatoes which were pressured canned. The tomatoes settle to the bottom of the jar. With the HWB'd, the jars are full with little space on top and there is maybe a half inch of juice on the bottom. The jars look much nicer. I do add the lemon juice to both.
    Here is how I prep mine. I do at least enough tomatoes for 7 quarts at a time.
    I blanch 12 tomatoes at a time and set my timer for 1min20 sec. Remove to a very large bowl. I blanch all the tomatoes first. When finished blanching I start peeling and cutting the tomatoes into quarters into a 12 qt. colander which sets in a large bowl. When all are peeled and cut I empty the juice from the bowl and put it in a sauce pot with about 10 tomatoes cut into smaller pieces and divide this amongst the 7 quarts which already contain the salt and lemon juice. I then fill with the quartered tomatoes.
    I then free the bubbles and proceed with the lids.
    It may be a little more work, but the jars look nice and full.
    Hot packing is OK and you can cut down on the processing time in the HWB but the finished product is somewhat mushy.

• ksrogers