Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sdf2013

Canning Veggies

sdf2013
10 years ago

So this is my first year canning and I started with green beans. I had my mom help me because she is a long time canner. She told me to pressure cook my beans at 10 lbs for 10 mins. That is the time she and my grandma have always used. After making a couple of batches I read in my pressure cooker's manual to do 11 lbs for 20 mins for green beans. My question is why does the manual say for so long? Is that the time it takes to kill the botulism or is that just what is needed for cooked beans? Like I said, my mom has always used that time and we have never gotten sick. I hate to question my mom's method but I don't want to get my family sick either. Also, can I boil the beans before we eat them as an extra safety measure?

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Green bean processing time has been 20 min for pints and 25 mins for quarts for decades. Sorry Mom, but many things have changed over the past 20-30 years. And they have really changed since Grandmas time.

The weight depends on your altitude. 10 lbs if you use a weight canner, 11 pounds if you use a gauged canner.

The purpose is to kill any botulism spores and there have been at least 3 cases of botulism from green beans that we have discussed here in just the past year.

And for future reference how to properly use a pressure canner guidelines have changed too which is why using the canner manual isn't recommended as most are outdated.

What to do with those beans all depends on if you want to abide by the current guidelines or not. They are considered under-processed and if less than 24 hours old need to be re-processed. If more than 24 hours old they should be disposed of.

Please invest in a current copy of the Ball Blue Book of Canning or better yet, explore all the resources provided online at NCHFP including the changes in pressure canner use.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP - how to can green beans