Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rdback

Confused about Pressure canning - HELP!!!

rdback
16 years ago

Just when you think you "got it", I get confused again. Watch your acid/non-acid ratios, you don't need acid in pressure canners, use only USDA approved recipes, you can can your own recipe, no you can't it's not tested, etc.

We are getting ready to make spaghetti sauce. We decided to use the USDA approved version. Right out of the shute it says use thirty pounds of tomatoes. What's the heck is that? I've been cooking for forty years and always used a MEASURING CUP LOL.

Then there's Annie's Salsa. I read you can leave the vinegar completely out if you're pressure canning. You can leave out the tomato paste, tomato sauce and sugar too.

What is important when Pressure Canning? Do you have to watch acidity levels? Ratios? etc.?

Please enlighten before we go CRAZY!!!!!!!

Comments (27)

• dgkritch
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Deep breath! Relax!
    Yes, it can be confusing.
    Yes, we're always here to help.
    Yes, it will get easier.

OK, let's see....

USDA spaghetti sauce recipe (I don't have it in front of me) I am guessing it says 30 lbs. of tomatoes because they cook down so much when you make sauce. It would be pointless to start with 8 cups (or whatever) and end up with only 1/2 cup of sauce. They assume you'd like enough to can.

I believe the original "Annie's" recipe was designed to be pressure canned and requires 1/3 cup vinegar (OR lemon juice OR lime juice OR a combo of 2 or 3). Now, whether that's for taste only, Annie will have to answer. She worked with Michigan State University to come up with a safe recipe, so can answer questions about what was actually tested.
    Yes, you can leave out the sugar, tomato sauce or tomato paste. Those were added to achieve the sweetness and texture per Annie. They are NOT mandatory for "safeness".