Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sally_grower

Help with Clear Gel

sally_grower
11 years ago

I'm so excited....I just returned home from Wisconsin where I went to an Amish bulk food store and bought Clear Gel 3 lbs for $2.80 and Instant Clear Gel 1 lb for $2.00. I've never used clear gel before but I've read so much about it here and in my Ball Book I really wanted to try it and it was too expensive to order on Amazon.

I'm OK with what to do with the regular clear gel, but what would I use the instant for. I don't think I've ever seen it used in a recipe. Is it the same as instant pectin? The store also had big bags of pectin and instant pectin, I should have bought some of that too.....next time! Thanks for the advice. Sally

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Use it just like you'd use cornstarch (or flour) for thickening gravy and sauces. It is for fresh serving foods only, not canning.

Dave

• sally_grower
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thanks Dave, I can't say that that is good news, but at least now I know what to do with it now.

• readinglady
    11 years ago

I use instant for pie filling. It's especially good for fruit pies that will be frozen as it doesn't break down.

I actually use it much more than the regular as I've found I don't like canning ClearJel thickened foods.

Anything that's thickened with flour, tapioca, cornstarch, instant clearjel can be used instead.

Carol

• sally_grower
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Carol, can you tell me what you don't like about canning with Clear Jel? The recipe I am planning on making with it is Homestyle Corn relish, will it make it "Glopy"?

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Just for clarity, regular Clearjel is the only thickener the USDA recommends for use in home-canning. It does not break down and become thin when used in home-canned foods.