Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashleyinasheville_gw

Newbie Pressure Canning Question - Presto Canner and Weights

ashleyinasheville
12 years ago

Hi everyone! I'm new to the forum and just want to thank everyone first for all their excellent advice when it comes to gardening, the harvest and preserving.

I'm fairly new to canning and just got my first pressure canner (presto 23 quart - stock no. 01781). We are planning to use the new canner tomorrow to can corn (both whole kernel and creamed corn) in pints. My question...is it ok to only use the 15 pound counterweight included with the canner as our pressure "gauge". We are at 1800 ft elevation. I am following the recipes in the most recent ball blue book.

I plan to get the actual gauge tested ASAP and also plan to purchase the three peice weight set. If this is unsafe to do, we will wait to can until I've had the gauge tested and/or have the weights. Any advice is appreciated!

~Ashley in Asheville

Comments (12)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Using the counterweight as a weight isn't recommended. And since you only need 11 lbs. at your altitude for a dial gauge you wouldn't want to use 15 lb. unless necessary. Best solution is to get the gauge tested befor using or get the weights before using.

If it were me I'd do an informal test of my gauge by doing a trial run using only water in the canner. Run the pressure up until the counterweight rocks steadily and note what your gauge reads then adjust your reading on the gauge accordingly while doing the corn. ie: if it is low by 2 lbs. add 2.5 lbs to the 11 lbs. needed on the gauge while doing the corn.

A trial run or 2 first is always recommended so you can do both at the same time. Plus be sure to read the How to Use A Pressure Canner guide at NCHFP.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: How to Use a Pressure Canner

• macybaby
    12 years ago