Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rocketjeremy

Would you...

rocketjeremy
11 years ago

I'm looking for some advice for some of you that may have been in this situation before or how you would react in my place.

Long story short I have a possible barter arrangement where I would be supplied produce, jars/lids (i think for both of us) and in turn would can fruits/vegs and spilt the product....they will have corn, tomatoes, beans, pears, and cucumbers according to the list I was given. I would keep a share as my "payment." Does this sound like a good idea in this economy....or too much liability? I obviously would be making for my family too so all usual precautions and procedures would be taken.

To give you some background I have been canning for 4 years, have taken the University of Georgia online course, and wouldn't dream of using a recipe that wasn't straight from the NCHFP or the Ball Book (2006 copy) I've canned both boiling water bath and pressure.

So, would you do it, do it with reservation, or not do it all all and why? Thanks!!

Comments (8)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

So the costs for you would be your time, your equipment depreciation, your water, and the power/energy expended by the stove, correct? Will they supply the canning salt, lemon juice or citric acid, and the sugar needed? If not add those costs in too. If so then the total cost depends on how you value your time.

Is this something you would be doing anyway just for your own family? If so then the costs would be 1/2 your above total.

Bottom line is the $ value of the food you will end up with equal to all the extra time you'd put in? Don't forget you have to peel all the tomatoes, snap and trim all the beans, shuck all the corn, etc.