Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
margi83301

I'm a pickle newbie-need some suggestions/help

margi83301
16 years ago

I have decided I want to try making pickles. I was at the farmers market today, and there were 5, 10 and 20 lbs bags of pickling cukes. I almost bought a 5lb bag, but decided to wait and figure out what I needed first.

I have a Heinz Pickling pamphlet and an old Ortho Gardening Guide for Pickling. Somewhere I saw a recipe(and now I can't remember)that cukes, brine, dill heads and peeled garlic. Can anyone recommend a recipe such as that? Also, I'll be using quart jars...if I were to buy 5 lbs, how many quart jars(approx, I realize)would that make?

TIA very much

Comments (15)

• david52 Zone 6
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

A case of quart jars will do probably 10 lbs of cucumbers. Get the wide mouth jars so it is easier to put the cucumbers in. Basically, the idea is wash the cucumbers, take off the flower bit and the tiny thorns, put dill seed, garlic, and cucumbers in the jars up to the shoulder, and fill the jars with a hot vinegar and brine solution.

I vary this by putting a teaspsoon of salt in the jars and then do a 1/2 1/2 solution of vinegar and water, boiled, I prefer cider vinegar for the taste.

Wipe off the rims, put on the lids, and boiling water bath for 20 minutes. Wait at least 6 weeks.

Have fun, its a great way to start.

• lyndaluu2
    16 years ago

Here's a easy refrigerator Bread and Butter pickle recipe.

Lindas Bread and Butter Pickles

3 white onions sliced thin
    4 qts pickling cukes - approx 24 cut into 1/4" slices
    Mix and pour over cukes and onions the following:
    4 cups granulated sugar
    1/2 tbsp turmeric
    1/2 tbsp celery seed
    1/2 tbsp mustard seed
    1/4 cup pickling salt (this salt doesn't make solution cloudy)
    4 cups white vinegar
    Divided into 2 1 qt jars.
    DO NOT COOK..
    Put into refrigerator