Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kai615

Stewed Tomatoes Canning question.

kai615
11 years ago

Hello All.

I am a little new, but not a complete newbie to canning. I have been doing little bits for a few years, but this is the first year I am actually putting up large amounts - YEAH!!

I am very, very careful about following all recipes to the letter and never deviating. However, my husband and I love stewed tomatoes. I would love to put a batch up on Friday morning when my next round of tomatoes are ready, but every recipe I find seems to not cook the tomatoes down long enough. I would prefer to can in the pressure canner as the only recipe I can find for a water bath involves adding vinegar (doesn't sound appealing in stewed tomatoes), but all the recipes I find are basically the same recipe.

http://www.simplycanning.com/canning-stewed-tomatoes.html

The ingredients sound fine, but they only cook for 10 minutes before being packed in the jar for immediate processing. So, my question is, can I cook it down longer to make the tomatoes less watery and more flavorful before processing them?

I am probably over thinking this a bit and can come up with nothing that should be a safety issue in this, but as I said, I am very particular in following instructions to the letter when it comes to canning at least until I feel I have a much better grasp as to why things are the way they are.

I appreciate any help and advice. Thanks so much in advance.

Kalindi.

Comments (12)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The standard approved recipe for Stewed Tomatoes is in the BBB pg. 69 and is pressure canned and are nicely thick and requires no lemon or vinegar. It looks like she has taken the approved recipe and modified it.

Do you not have that book? That would be a much better recipe to use since it is tested and approved rather than one from someone's personal blog.