Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patchworkfarm_gw

Should I open my big virtual mouth?

patchworkfarm
12 years ago

I very recently friended an old college pal on facebook, and checked out his and his wife's pages, where they detail their recent homesteading adventures. His wife has a photo tutorial on canning tomatoes which is basically peeling and boiling tomatoes, ladling them into hot jars and that's it. No pressure canning. No water bath. Just wait for the lids to pop down.

Another viewer commented how easy that looked and asked if she could add green peppers. The wife said SURE!

Now I'm no canning expert, but this seems pretty unsafe to me, especially if she's telling others to go ahead and add other non-acidic ingredients.

So I'm screwing up some courage to post & tell a woman I don't even know that she's doing something really unsafe. Any advice on how not to come across as a big jerk? OR should I just keep my big virtual mouth shut?

This is someone's personal page . . . on the other hand, she's posting things for others to see and copy, and not giving responsible advice.

I'd appreciate your thoughts.

Comments (10)

• Linda_Lou
    12 years ago

You should say something since you also don't say she adds bottled lemon juice . That can lead to botulism. It is a serious issue, not just spoilage of the food.

I have to be the bad guy a lot. If they get mad, then oh well. I would send a link to how to properly can them and maybe one that talks about "open kettle ".

• readinglady
    12 years ago

Be thankful it's not your best friend or a member of your family.

Honestly, tough as this is, I think when we know better we have an obligation to point out the problem. Lots of people today have begun to can without understanding the issues.

I think tomatoes are kind of the "Rodney Dangerfield" of the canning world. People continually understate the potential thinking tomatoes are some sort of high-acid fruit and they're not.