Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karriephammond

Problems with jam

karriephammond
12 years ago

I am having problems with jam. I am new to canning and just can't seem to get my jam to turn out. I have been using the Ball book strawberry and peach jam recipes but they always turn out runny what can I do does anyone have suggestions or recipes that might turn out better

Comments (8)

• Linda_Lou
    12 years ago

Get Pomona's pectin. It gels anything and it is so good since you can use no sugar or sugar, stevia, honey, anything you want. Make up recipes, double them, etc. and they turn out.

• readinglady
    12 years ago

If you are talking about old-fashioned fruit jams without commercial pectin, both strawberries and peaches are challenging to start out with because both fruits are low in natural pectin.

You can make wonderful jams with them but they probably aren't the best choice for a beginner.

Use Pomona as Linda_Lou recommends or buy powdered or liquid regular pectin and follow the recipes on the package insert.

Carol

• judydel
    12 years ago

My peach jam (without pectin) also came out loose. I did one batch last week with Pomona and that batch is jelled fine. But the 10 jars I did this weekend are loose. I don't mind the loose jam because we use it in yogurt anyway. But my question is this . . . is fruit jam ever not safe because of too little pectin and/or sugar? I always put the jars in a BW bath for 15 minutes or more, and I add either lemon juice or ascorbic acid.

• readinglady
    12 years ago

No. Pectin has no relationship to food safety. Sugar sometimes contributes to food safety but only with the very rare fruits that have a high pH - that is, melons (cantaloupe jam), figs, bananas. Aside from those few it doesn't matter. Even then, the additional acid is far more important.

Generally if acid is added to jam it's to improve the set as there has to be a balance of pectin, acid and sugar. It's not required except for the jams above.