Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
karissa_lynn_gw

How long do pickles need to set before eating?

karissa_lynn
13 years ago

I just made dill pickles for the first time. I've heard all different amounts of time that they need to set before eating them. I've heard anywhere from 1 week to 3 months. What do you all usually do?

Thanks,

Karissa

Comments (13)

• karissa_lynn
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Since I am new to canning and very new to pickling, I'm not sure which type they are. I don't really know the differences. I used the dill pickle recipe on page 50 of the BBB. They are canned in brine, so does that make them brine pickles? The BBB doesn't say.

Karissa

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

Karissa - if you will flip back to page 49 you'll see the category title for that recipe - "Fresh Pack Pickled Foods". That's the type aka "quick pack".

See right under the category title it where it says Allow 4-6 weeks for fresh pack pickled foods to cure and develop a satisfactory flavor.

That applies to all the recipes in that section of the book. ok?

In the BBB you will find general guidelines for each category laid out at the beginning of the category and if you go to pg.46-47 you'll find all the general pickling info called "Getting Started", the definitions of each type, general ingredients to have on hand, how to select cucumbers, etc.

Dave

• karissa_lynn
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Oops. Well I feel silly. I haven't had the chance to go through the book yet. And you all are so knowledgable.

Thanks Dave,
    Karissa

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

No problem. ;) We all started out at one time too.

Dave

• girlgroupgirl
    13 years ago

I made sweet pickles which are fermented for a short period of time (3 days) and then brined. I opened the jar yesterday after sitting for a week - too early! Should wait about 2 months or so for it to "taste" like the ones I'm used to!

• Morgaine1795
    10 years ago