Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisa218_gw

Canned BBQ recipe check?

Lisa218
12 years ago

Hi, I am fairly new to canning. I have canned some jams, peach salsa and some pickles with success. I'd like to can a simple BBQ sauce recipe that is on the back of a packet of pulled pork seasoning. It's just 1/2 cup ketchup, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/3 cup apple cidar vinegar. Would it be safe just like that if I tripled or quadrupled it and made a few jars? Or does anyone have any recipes very similar that are safe? It's just sweet tangy sauce.

Comments (9)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

It is just a quick-fix cooking recipe Lisa, not a canning recipe. Most cooking recipes cannot be canned. They have both safety and quality issues.

In this case, not only would the required processing time just be a guess but ketchup has added thickeners, usually corn starch, which aren't approved for canning since thickeners create density/heat penetration issues. Cornstarch also separates during storage.

There are many approved canning recipes for BBQ sauce. Start with the one at NCHFP and check out freshpreserving.com, the Ball Blue Book, and all the other canning recipe sources. You might also do a search here as I know Bar B que sauce recipes have been discussed here several times.

Dave

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP - Bar B Q Sauce

• pixie_lou
    12 years ago

Dave - is cornstarch a "spice" or a "natural flavoring"? Corn starch is not on the list of ingredients for either Heinz or Hunts, which ar the 2 best selling brands of ketchup.

Personally I would be more concerned about the ingredients on the package of pulled pork seasoning than the ingredients in the ketchup.

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

Good point pixie lou - I didn't pick up on her also adding the packet of spice mix. Thought it was just a recipe on the back of it rather than a recipe for using it. You are right that would be an even bigger concern.