Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nancyjane_gardener

Who uses the foodsaver?

nancyjane_gardener
10 years ago

I haven't canned in several years. I've been gardening for about 12 years, now and use the foodsaver for everything!
The only thing I'm not sure about is freezing fruit.
At this point, I only have 1 dwarf peach tree that won't be producing for another year or two, but my sister just dropped off a load of fuji apples and my next door neighbor is over run by pears and asian pears! Tell you the truth, I'm not fond of anything but fresh fruit! I only make pies during the holidays, not fond of applesauce except in muffins, so I'm not sure I'm in for doing fruit!
I could help out my neighbor, though if anyone has a way to freeze fruit!
Nancy

Comments (17)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

Nancy - NCHFP gives you all the instructions for freezing all sorts of fruits. Apples for example can be frozen in a syrup or dry packed (see instructions) and after freezing on a cookie sheet then vacuum seal them in a foodsaver bag.

Pears are usually only done in a syrup but if you want to use the foodsaver first freeze them in a plastic freezer container and then remove the block from the ontainer and put it in the food saver bag.

As you know trying to freeze liquids with the food saver is difficult so just freeze the things first and then vacuum seal them.

Hope this helps.

Dave

• kathy_in_washington
    10 years ago

Regarding freezing Peaches: (and I know you don't have enough this season) I always freeze sliced peaches in orange juice -- just the stuff you can purchase at the grocery store and drink every morning. It keeps the fruit from turning color, and the sliced peaches are delicious still slightly frozen, with the orange juice, for breakfast. Dave (digdirt) has a good idea about freezing in a container first then remove them and use the food saver bag. Of course -- you can always just keep them in the freezer container, too! Good luck.

• myfamilysfarm