Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
calliope_gw

High bush cranberries are looking pretty tempting

calliope
15 years ago

I have this huge, huge bush of them and this year the fruits are heavy and beautiful. I have plenty of other fruit I cultivate and use, but am considering making some jelly out of this viburnum. I have NO CLUE when the best stage is for harvesting, or even if this is tasty. Anybody else done it?

Comments (22)

• ksrogers
    15 years ago

Crans are ripe when they obviously turn red. You may have some that have a white tinge too. In Z6 I think they are usually ripe about mid September. I have not seen high bush, but tried to grow 'bogless' ones a few years ago, with no success. They do require acidic soil.

• calliope
    Original Author
    15 years ago

The highbush cranberry is just colloquial name for a type of viburnum, and I have never tried to harvest them before. But, they're supposed to taste just like true cranberries. I suspected that they weren't quite ripe, but boy they look so plump and juicy and I was afraid if I waited too long, they'd get tired and leathery. Birds are supposed to love them, that's why I planted gobs of various viburnums, but they hold off until late winter when the pickins gets slim to eat them.

Thank you for your help. If I do make some, I'll let everyone know how I liked it, and we can all start eating our landscaping. LOL.

• ksrogers
    15 years ago

Toss a light weight plastic fabric over the bushes. That may help to reduce birds feedings. Lately, birds are making meals out of my plums, and they go all way down to the seeds on one side.

• foodie_shellie
    15 years ago

I was raised in Alaska on Highbush cranberries. You harvest right after the first frost. The frost gives them the edge that they need.

• zabby17
    15 years ago

Hey, calliope, did you pick your berries and make something?

It's funny this thread popped back up now because I just tasted highbush cranberry jelly for the first time.