Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Really Need Help with Cukes

Posted by sayhellonow 5 (My Page) on
Tue, Aug 30, 11 at 23:02

I have so many cukes this summer and want to preserve them somehow. I don't want pickles and I've already made relish. Also, I don't have a freezer or a pressure canner either. Soooo I found this recipe for cucumber soup that I think I'll love (posted below). Now my question is: Can I can the soup with the dairy products, or can it without the dairy stuff and then add them just before serving? I'm fairly new to canning, so I appreciate any tips you can give me. Thanks, and here's the recipe:
Carolyn
-----------------------

Chilled Cucumber Soup

Ingredients:

2 large cucumbers
1 clove of garlic
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp dry dill weed
1 cup lemon juice
2 8-oz cartons plain yogurt or sour cream
2 cups half and half (sub. milk?)
Milk as needed for thinning
Chopped chives and cucumber slices for garnish

Directions:

1. Peel and seed the cucumber and puree in a blender.
2. Pour in the sour cream and 1/2 and 1/2 and mix well....add milk as needed to thin if desired.
3. Chill and serve garnished with chives and cuke slices.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Really Need Help with Cukes

No you cannot, sorry. That is a cooking recipe, and an excellent one too, but you cannot can cooking recipes.

No dairy products are allowed in home canned foods. No milk, butter, oils, half and half, cream, yogurt, cheese, etc. Not only can they turn rancid but the fats they contain insulate any bacteria, prevent the heat from killing them, and create the perfect little cocooned environment for bacterial growth.

Besides, depending on the type of bacteria present about 10 days to 2 weeks after you put it in the cabinet for storage the gases produced by the bacterial growth would either pop the tops or even explode the jars and you'd have one big stinky mess to clean up. :)