Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellen_inmo

Ball Blue Book recipes never the correct number of jars

ellen_inmo
11 years ago

I haven't been on Gardenweb in years......like 10 years.....so bear with me if I'm asking something that's been posted a zillion times already. I'm relatively new to canning. Last year I learned water bath canning, this year is pressure canning. And I am the biggest 38 year old canning addict you'll meet right now!! In my experiences, almost every recipe in the BBB never finishes out the number of jars the recipe says. Most of the time it's half! Most recipes do say "about x amount of pints/quarts" but sometimes it's way off. This does not happen with recipes from other sources. (I ONLY use reputable safe recipes.) Does anyone else notice this happening with Ball recipes?

Comments (12)

• coralb
    11 years ago

I am also new to canning but had that experiences with the ball sweet pickle relish. Way to much brine for the amount of veggies. I did leave what I canned soupy (i.e. not packed tight like store bought relish) and ended up throwing out brine and got 4 pints.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Most of the time it's half!

That much indicates some sort of problem in the way you are doing the recipe, not the recipe itself.

Sure they are approximations so may be off by 1/2-1 jar either way depending on all sorts of variables - using the wrong size jar, the quality of the fruit or vegetable, how you chop/slice/grind or how much solids you pack into the jars. Over-packing jars is a very common mistake for those new to canning and needs to be eliminated for safety sake.

So could you give examples of the specific recipes you have had such a BIG difference with?

Dave

• Linda_Lou
    11 years ago

Are you using liquid measuring cups for liquid ingredients and dry cups for dry things ? There is a difference and you need to use the correct things. A liquid cup will have a spout.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago