Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ellen_inmo

The importance of straining sediments from juices??

ellen_inmo
11 years ago

With a grape crop heavily bearing for the first time in 20 years, I've been canning quarts of grape juice practically daily. I follow strict BBB instructions. I buy the overpriced cheesecloth in the packages at the grocery store. Works fantastically. My question, what are the reasons for eliminating the sediments? I can't seem to find a good explanation. Is it a quality issue or a safety one?

Comments (7)

• Linda_Lou
    11 years ago

They taste gritty. I use old sheets or whatever I have. I don't buy expensive cheesecloth. If I need to buy something I get something from the thrift stores.

• GeneTheNewGuy
    11 years ago

Beats me, I'm just a rookie canner. However you can buy cheesecloth by the yard at the fabric store for a LOT less.

• ellen_inmo
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I was going to search for and ask if cheesecloth at fabric stores was the same and/or approved for using on food. I do not like spending $2.50 for a yard of it prepackaged at a grocery store. I live in a town 30 miles in every direction from a Wal Mart and an hour away from fabric stores, so I'm limited on options. I love to hear of other options than buying it altogether. While I'm on the subject of the grapes, because I'm swamped with canning to do and can't possibly keep up, I went ahead and froze several gallons of grapes. The idea is, in a month or two, I will thaw out those grapes and juice them. This way I won't have to use up a lot of jars that, in a couple months I will be using and emptying many and will not have a jar shortage right now. Anything I should know about the quality of those frozen grapes?

• GeneTheNewGuy
    11 years ago