Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shellbellfnp

Are my dilly beans safe?

shellbellfnp
9 years ago

Hello! I'm relatively new to canning, today I made 36 pints of dilly beans using a family recipe. I'm now concerned that that water to vinegar ratio may have been too low...

The recipe I used calls for 1 cup white vinegar to 3 cups water and 2 tablespoons salt.

I've made a lot of these before, but they'd never lasted very long (and lately I've not even processed them I just store them in the fridge, they're eaten quickly).

So, I just finished 36 jars and processed in a BWB for 10 minutes as per the recipe.

Are these shelf safe? If not what options do I have? Can I reprocess in a pressure canner? Store In the fridge? Open them and add vinegar then reprocess?

It was A LOT of work to just throw them out....

Comments (5)

• 2ajsmama
    9 years ago

Did you just process them yesterday? If within 24 hours, yes, you can open them and reprocess. They will be softer.

You can PC them but still need to open them, warm the jars, and pour boiling water over the beans. Do you have a PC and are you experienced? Beans aren't something to learn on.

It would be better to open them (again, only if you processed them less than 24 hours ago), drain them, dump the beans into a big pot, wash and warm the jars, pack the beans into as many jars fit into your BWB, heat a mixture of half (5%) vinegar and half water plus any dried spices you may need (depends on if any are still sticking to the beans), I wouldn't add more salt or fresh herbs/garlic, then process for 10 minutes in BWB.

For future reference, here is NCHFP recipe - if you don't sterilize the jars, process for 10 minutes instead. There is a good recipe in Small Batch Preserving, and more in The Joy of Pickling.

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP Dilly Beans

• shellbellfnp
    Original Author
    9 years ago