Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lilacs_of_may

frozen peaches question

lilacs_of_may
15 years ago

I have some frozen sliced peaches from last year that I'd like to make pies and cobbler with. I tried thawing a batch and they turned brown before they even thoroughly thawed. I soaked them in lemon juice and honey before I froze them, but obviously I didn't get that part right.

What should I do now? Can I put frozen peaches into a pie shell to bake? Can I still make juice, jam, or peach butter with them? They are still good, aren't they? They were fresh frozen and except for the one batch have never been thawed.

And what is the best way to treat this year's peaches to make sure they don't go brown like that? I'm new at this. I just bought the property with the peach tree on it a couple of years ago.

Thanks.

Comments (15)

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

Fruit Fresh - it is ascorbic acid a food grade acid that prevents browning and is sold in most any grocery store - sometimes in the spice section and sometimes in the canning supplies. Just follow the directions on the label.

Year old fruit will have faded a fair amount in quality and flavor. You could use them to make jam mixed with another fruit to hide the color and give it more taste.

Dave

• lilacs_of_may
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I'll look for the Fruit Fresh next time I go to the store.

Why do I need to hide the peach color? And I'm not sure why frozen fruit would lose that much quality. Will they turn brown regardless of what I do with them?

• digdirt2
    15 years ago

Yes they will turn brown - as you have already discovered according to your initial post. That is why you would want to mix with something else to disguise the color. Most would find brown peach jam or pie very unappealing.