Return to the Harvest Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
# of tomatoes in pint, quart

Posted by lido (My Page) on
Thu, Sep 3, 09 at 5:53

I'm brand new to canning this year and I have what I'm sure is an inexperienced beginner's questions, but here goes...

Is there a rule of thumb for how many small, medium or large tomatoes make up a pint or a quart?

Is it correct to assume that the initial count relates to unchopped tomatoes?

Or is the relationship defined after you chop them and get them into a measuring cup when the mass has changed?

I've seen in a thread here that someone said about 6 large are in a quart. I'm wondering if there is a similar relationship for the other tomato sizes.

Thanks for helping a middle-aged beginner.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: # of tomatoes in pint, quart

Hi Lida,

The number of tomatoes per jar depends on the size of the tomatoes, the type (paste versus slicer), how you remove the skins & cores (boiling water dip versus food mill), other ingredients added (onions, peppers etc.) and how far you boil them down.

I happen to count and weigh my tomatoes before canning and measure the volume in the pot (sigh). If you are just going to can hot crushed tomatoes, I average 10 tomatoes per quart of a mixture of paste and slicer tomatoes. That said, the amount can vary from 8 to 12 depending on the ratio of paste to slicer. This is using a boiling water dip to skin the tomatoes.

When I make salsa, which has added ingredients and is boiled down, I average 13 tomatoes per quart, again a mixture of paste and slicer types.

Your mileage may vary, so best to experiment and keep some records.

TomNJ

o

To further complicate ;) - it will depend on the type of quart jars used, old ones vs. new ones (their shape and size is a smidge bigger but still called "quarts". And wide-mouth (hold a bit more) or regular mouth.

The "estimate" that NCHFP gives us is: