Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plantsandyarn

Suggestions/Opinions on Buying Canning Equipment

PlantsAndYarn
11 years ago

This is my first year of canning. Since I am now hooked, my Ball Canning Discovery Kit (which can only process 3 jars at a time) isn't going to cut it for next year.

I would appreciate your suggestion/opinions on where & what kind of canning equipment would be good to purchase. I am not sure if I will just go with the BWB canning or pressure canning. Since, at this time, I am only concerned with doing tomatoes, I could just go with BWB. But then I think about doing other things, so maybe just go with a pressure canner.

Also, I read in another thread (which I can't find now) that someone had a canner that they could stack pints in. I really like that idea but have no clue as to what type/brand of equipment that would be.

Please let me know what you think. Thanks.

Comments (42)

• michelelc
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I have the Presto 23 qt pressure canner. You can stack a second layer of pint jars. I find the 23 qt. pretty heavy, and although you can put more jars in when pressure canning, you can't while BWB. So, definitely take into consideration the weight of the canner in addition to the size. I have a hard time filling and emptying the water when I do BWB. I sometimes wish I bought a smaller model for that reason.

• JohnDeereGal
    11 years ago

All American is the only way to go in my opinion. Mine is the big one (32 pints or 19 quarts) but there are various sizes. The reasons I would use this over some of the less expensive are:

1) The jiggler has a pound setting and it will greatly regulate the pressure by simply jiggling more to release excess pressure. You'd have to work really hard to get pressure to a dangerous level as opposed to most.

2) There is no rubber seal - it seals metal on metal. One less thing to worry about, oil, store and replace.