Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joyce86_gw

Mustard pickles - what to do about the Flour?

joyce86
11 years ago

Hi, I'm completely new to canning. I had a craving for my GM's mustard pickles - which are mostly cauliflower, some onions, probably some cukes, and the sauce. I finally found a recipe that is close, but it has flour. SO, I now see flour is bad - but what do you do instead? Since these are not reheated when used... I bought a pressure canner, but find in my research a lot of confusion. It seems I need a PHD to can. Who knew? I've gone to some recommended links for flour, but still don't see any information there.

Comments (5)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

To quote Carol (readinglady) from a previous discussion about this: There is still one flour-thickened mustard pickle in the Ball Blue Book. Generally flour presents pH and density issues in canning; it's not that it can't be used, it's that little testing has been done to determine the correct processing time to compensate for the properties of the flour. ClearJel is today's preferred thickener. It presents less of a barrier to heat penetration and doesn't break down during heat processing as flour does. So in many regards it's the superior product.

So no you don't need a PhD, just use one of the tested and reliable sources for your canning information rather than random unapproved web sources.

NCHFP is the recognized authority online for canning information, guidelines, recipes, and how-to. From their guidelines come the Ball canning books and several other tested and approved canning books. Stick with those sources and no worries.

If you don't have the Ball Blue Book then one of us will have to post the recipe (pg. 50) for you but it is quite long so you really need to pick one up. They are sold for about $6 anywhere canning supplies are sold.

Dave

• readinglady
    11 years ago

Thank you, Dave!

Carol

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    11 years ago