Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
julie_in_ontario

Salsa safety question

julie_in_ontario
9 years ago

Hello from a first-time poster. :)

I'm new to canning, with the exception of jams. I made a batch of Fresh Vegetable Salsa from Bernardin's Complete Book of Home Preserving. The recipe just calls for "chopped cored peeled tomatoes" but doesn't specify variety. I used the large type tomatoes (probably Early Girl and Fantastic) and blanched, peeled, cored, and seeded them. They were still pretty juicy so I drained them too. The recipe did not call for removing the seeds and pulp nor did it call for draining. Have I made this recipe unsafe by doing so? Original ingredients as follows:

Fresh Vegetable Salsa

7 C. chopped cored peeled tomatoes
2 C. coarsely chopped onion
1 C. coarsely chopped green bell pepper
8 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped
3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 can (156 m.) tomato paste
3/4 C. white vinegar
1/2 C. loosely packed finely chopped cilantro
1/2 t. ground cumin

I'd be grateful for your help as I'm preparing to make another batch.

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    9 years ago

The only safety issue you might have caused by what you did is ending up with salsa that was too thick for proper heat penetration.

Removing the seeds and seed cavity pulp, if you did it before you measured, means more tomatoes were added than called for. That is good for the pH but increases the density. Measure first.

Draining them increases the density even more. That juice is "assumed" in the recipe. It is fine to drain off some if you must but fully drained? No.

Type of tomatoes used makes no difference.

So the issue is if it ended up too thick. Salsa is supposed to be "sloshy/soupy" going into the jars. It can be drained AFTER opening the jars if needed. It should move about freely in the jars when tipped or rotated, have a liquidy appearance, not be solid.