Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tmommie

How to tell if a batch is good or not

tmommie
11 years ago

I am new to canning, bought a used Mirro. I processed one batch of green beans 2 weeks ago and another batch yesterday. the one two weeks ago I had problems with - the weight never danced, jiggled or moved in any way but there was steam coming out. After about 40 minutes I realized the overpressure plug had blown. Turned it off and waited the cool time. When I took the jars out all but one did seal but the beans had a reddish brown color in the water inside the jar. At that time I assumed it was because there were overprocessed. I ordered new overpressure plugs and tried again yesterday. Again, the weight never danced, jiggled or moved but I did turn off the heat after 25 minutes this time. After cooling I took the jars out and the same color was in the jars. After reading a lot of these posts I have learned 1. that Mirro is not a highly recommended canner 2. glasstops are not a good heat source and 3. I should have done a test run or two to try and find the right heat setting to achieve 10 pounds of pressure before possibly ruining 14 quarts of green beans. My questions are : are the beans ok to eat or have I ruined them? And does anyone successfully can on a glasstop stove? I do have a propane burner I can used outside if that's what I need to do but would rather do it inside. I am assuming my Mirro is a 23 quart (I'm not positive because I did not receive the manual when I bought it). If I bought a smaller canner (I know from reading that it needs to hold at least 4 quarts) would it work better on my glasstop? Thanks to any and all that have suggestions or answers for me!

Comments (14)

• dgkritch
    11 years ago