Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buckeyefan_gw

Canning cherry tomatoes?

buckeyefan
17 years ago

Hello all- my first post! I found this site last night, and I have been busy reading up and getting tips, so forgive me if this question has been answered before.

I am new to canning; teaching myself, and learning as I go! So far I have done blueberry preserves, peaches, pears, salsa, and garlic/basil tomato sauce.

Another first for me this year is gardening- I have never had a garden before, so again, learning as I go, but I planted 3 cherry tomato plants, and they are producing like crazy right now- I harvest about 30-40 tomatoes every day or so, and I don't know what to do with them! I am reading how people dry them here- is there a way to do that in the oven? I don't have a dehydrator.

Also, my main question, is how do you can them? I am only using a water bath canner right now- (a pressure canner is going on my Christmas list!). Do you skin them like a regular tomato? Any advice here is very appreciated!

Thanks, and I am excited to read more tips and recipes!

Comments (11)

• dgkritch
    17 years ago

I freeze mine. Just rinse and toss into a ziploc.
    I use them all winter in soups, chili, spaghetti sauce, etc.
    Seems like they'd be a real pain to peel them all!

Welcome to the forums. There's lots of great people and advice here.
    Deanna

• julsie
    17 years ago

I'd can them the same way you can larger tomatoes. In fact, I'd probably put them in a salsa or tomato sauce if they're not too liquid. But that's just me!

Yes, you can dry foods in your oven, but there's been some discussion here that suggests some ovens are too hot, even on their lowest setting. I've never done that, so hopefully someone with experience will chime in!

Julie

• readinglady
    17 years ago

As long as your oven temp is low enough you could dry them in the oven.