Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
highalttransplant

Habanero Gold substitution

highalttransplant
12 years ago

This will be my first time to can this recipe, but I've been making a Cranberry Jalapeno Jelly for a couple years now, and it is my favorite. However, in that recipe the chunks of pepper are strained out. I think the bits of pepper in the Hab. Gold recipe look pretty, but I'm not liking the idea of the red onion. I'm not big on the taste of red onion, and it seems out of place to me. So my question is, if I leave that out, it decreases the overall volume the recipe will make. Should I increase the apricots to make up the difference? I'm not brave enough to increase the amount of habaneros, LOL!

Also, I noticed that there is a Big Batch Habanero Gold (Hot & Sweet Confetti Jam) recipe that has been posted on this forum, so is the original recipe as written in the Complete Book of Home Preserving an exception to the "no doubling" rule on jellies and jams?

Bonnie

Comments (26)

• readinglady
    12 years ago

Yes, the recipe is an exception, the reason being the original is an exceptionally small batch for that amount of liquid pectin. The "big-batch" is actually within the range for many other conventional recipes using that amount of Certo (or whatever).

The bigger recipe already has increased apricot. You could just eliminate the onion. It will be more monochromatic in color but no other issues.

Carol

• highalttransplant
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks, Carol! I kind of figured that was the case, but thought I would check with the experts here first, before trying it out.

I was thinking if I used a combination of peppers that were red, yellow, and orange it would be very fallish looking : )

• ahbee01
    12 years ago