Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
macky77

Am I using my jar lifter upside down?

macky77
15 years ago

Okay, I know... really dumb question. When I started canning a few years ago, I didn't have anyone showing me how. I just went by the book. It made the most sense to me at the time to use the lifters with the rollers at the top and the plastic-covered curved part at the bottom, clamping onto the jars. I saw a photo the other day, however, that showed them being used with the roller parts clamping onto the jar. Have I been using them upside down this whole time?

Comments (19)

• readinglady
    15 years ago

Well, if you're doing it wrong I've been making the same mistake for 40 years.

Carol

• zabby17
    15 years ago

macky, I'd like to see the photo from 10 seconds later, when the jar slips and smashes to the floor!

Like you, I learned to can without anyone showing me, and had to figure the jar lifter out, and belive me, I TRIED it both ways. THat's how I discovered that the curved, covered part fits a canning jar neck EXACTLY---in fact, it's so clever that if fits it whether you hold them vertically, picking up the jar from above, OR horizontally, picking up the jar from beside.

The flat rollers, on the other hand, don't exactly conform to a jar shape! I assume they are meand to be handles, though I have tried (with mediocre success) sometimes using them to pick lids out of hot water.

Where did you see the photo? If it was illustrating a magazine or newspaper story about canning, my guess is that the photographer (and maybe writer!) don't actually DO any canning, and so got the props and set up a photo shoot but didn't know how to use them.

Probably no jar was actually picked up---the shot was probably set up to look like one was about to be. (If any were, as I said, they likely dropped.)

How amusing!

Zabby

• macky77
    Original Author
    15 years ago