Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
klein5366

pressure canning help boiling juice out

klein5366
11 years ago

i'm new to canning and pressure canning, we cut our corn and filled our jars added hot water and salt, boiled our lids, put them in the pressure caner brought the pressure up to 10 lb for 55 minutes and some of our water boiled out of the jars, leaving the corn above the liquid level in the jars is this ok or what am i doing wrong? i live at sea level, i'm using a presto cooker, the book calls for 55 minutes at 10 lb steam. we put about 2 inches of water in the cooker so what am i doing wrong ?

Comments (2)

• wertach zone 7-B SC
    11 years ago

I'm no expert, but 2" of water sounds like not enough. But that shouldn't cause the juice to escape IMHO. Did you let the pressure come down naturally or did you vent it?

If you let air in the P-cooker before it cools by venting the juice will boil out of the jars.

The experts will give you a better answer.

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Several contributing factors but first I strongly recommend you review the link below for proper use of a pressure canner. And I hope it was a canner you were using, not a pressure cooker.

Loss of liquid in jars during pressure canning is caused by either a) absorption of the liquid by the foods and/or b) what is called siphoning (liquid getting sucked out of the jars).

You used raw pack for your corn rather than hot pack and raw pack will always absorb some of the liquid. Plus you likely over-filled the jars with corn and not enough liquid. The corn needs to be very loosely packed so it freely moves around in the liquid.

Siphoning is caused by too rapid and/or too frequent heat adjustments during processing. Fluctuating heat causes fluctuating pressures in the canner and must be avoided but that takes practice. It is far better to let the pressure run too high than it is to play with the heat source trying to get it perfect.