Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nokitchen

Help a newbie with his canned tomatoes.

nokitchen
10 years ago

Hello. I'm just getting into canning. I've done a jam and a chutney, but mostly as practice. What I really want to do is preserve the summer's best local tomatoes. So last night I did a test batch of local romas canned whole and halved with water. I used the instructions here: http://www.pickyourown.org/canning_tomatoes.htm

Several good things happened. The air bubbled out of the jars during the boil nicely. The caps gave a nice satisfying pop during cooling and are securely in place now.

But I have concerns. For one, despite using the bubble tool, there were a ton of tiny bubbles in the finished product. In some, there was so much air that it materially increased the headspace, like in the attached picture (or there was another cause of all that increased headspace. Even the ones without that drastic a loss ended up with more headspace than I'd left originally. Here's one of the jars upside down to make it easier to see how much headspace: http://www.flickr.com/photos/homebrew901/9712335026/ In all instances I left 1/2 inch when I put the jars in the canner.

Can (hah!) you tell me what went wrong and how to prevent a reoccurrence? Before summer's out I'd like to do many pounds of Jersey and heritage tomatoes.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments (6)

• readinglady
    10 years ago

Pick your own is unfortunately, not consistently reliable. For example, the BWB time for whole or cut tomatoes in water (quarts) would be 45 minutes, but in tomato juice the time is actually 85 minutes. So I hope you canned the tomatoes in water. Otherwise your tomatoes have not been processed nearly long enough and that's the biggest issue.

Was the water in the canner clear or did it smell of tomatoes and have particles floating in it? If so, some of the liquid siphoned out of the jars, perhaps due to over-packing.