Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alyssalee_gw

Reducing sugar in cowboy candy

AlyssaLee
10 years ago

Hello all,

I am new to canning and was so happy to stumble upon this forum before I started because it is full of useful information. I don't even look at other websites for canning questions because I have come to only trust this one with all the expert advice. Anyway, I have looked through numerous threads trying to find out if I could reduce the sugar in cowboy candy.

My family likes spicy foods and I thought these would be a sweet and spicy element. I recently made a batch a month ago and tried them the other day and I found them to be not spicy at all and only sugary. Don't get me wrong people liked them but I was hoping for more of a kick along with the sweet.

Ingredients
3 pounds Firm, Fresh Jalapeno Peppers, Washed
2 cups Cider Vinegar
6 cups White Granulated Sugar
half teaspoons Turmeric
half teaspoons Celery Seed
3 teaspoons Granulated Garlic
1 teaspoon Ground Cayenne Pepper

Is there anyway I would be able to safely reduce the sugar in this recipe and still make it safe to can? I have read you can reduce sugar safely in some recipes but not others so I wanted to ask here to be sure. Thank you in advance for the help!

Comments (6)

• 2ajsmama
    10 years ago

Sure, it's 100% vinegar brine so you can reduce the sugar as much as you want. Of course, at some point you're just going to end up with pickled peppers, so if you don't want sweet at all, why don't you just start with a pickled pepper recipe? You can even do just *some* sugar and end up with sort of a bread and butter pickled pepper.

Here's just one - NCHFP has many vegetable pickle recipes, you can always sub hot peppers for sweet (in same amount/weight, obviously not count) if a bell pepper recipe looks interesting.

The Joy of Pickling has a lot of pepper recipes too.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pickled peppers

• ekgrows
    10 years ago