Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plantsandyarn

Freezing Eggplant Slices

PlantsAndYarn
11 years ago

Just thought I would share my experience with freezing eggplant.

Although this is my first year of canning, I have been freezing my veggies for several years. Every year I grow eggplant & every year I give away 10 times more than I use (which isn't easy b/c not everyone likes them). I really like eggplant parmesan, but it's too hot in the summer to heat up the oven & house for a meal.

This year I decided to find a way to freeze them. Since the recipe said to use 1/4 cup of lemon juice per gallon of blanching water, I wasn't too sure how they would taste. Didn't really want lemony tasting eggplant, but went ahead & made them anyway.

I peeled, sliced, sweated, rinsed & blanched the eggplant. Then I put the slices between 2 towels & patted them dry. Then I covered each slice with flour, then egg, then cracker crumbs. I placed each slice on a cookie sheet with wax paper on it. I placed that in the freezer. When frozen, I wrapped them in wax paper, then placed in a gallon freezer bag.

Last week when the kids were here(more judges that way), I tested my frozen eggplant by making a huge pan of eggplant parmesan. I fried the eggplant frozen, then assembled the dish & baked in the oven.

It was great!! Everyone who likes eggplant raved about it. And no lemon taste at all! This is the way to go with eggplant! Since I will be canning my tomatoes next year, I will have more room in the freezer. So I may grow a few more eggplants now that I don't have to eat it all up during the growing season.

Comments (6)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

Good info. I've got about 6 small Ichibans in the fridge that I need to do something with so I'll give it a try.

Thanks for posting it.

Dave

• pqtex
    11 years ago