Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bristlingacres_gw

Looking for recipe for apple jelly and Pomona Pectin

bristlingacres
16 years ago

After reading all the threads regarding Pomona pectin I thought I'd give it a try (I am a jelly making newbie).

I would like to try making jelly using apple cider and mint (I have peppermint or lemon balm- which is a better choice?). Does anyone have a recipe using Pomona pectin with those ingredients?

I've never had apple mint jelly before- does apple and mint go well together or should I focus my efforts on something else?

Is there an apple jelly recipe out there that uses some sort of liquor or wine and Pomona pectin?

Thanks!

Astrid

Comments (7)

• ksrogers
    16 years ago

The Pomona pectin contains recipes. With a simple amount of ingredients like sugar, apple juice/cider, and the Pomona, you don't need to really follow any recipe. Its simply sweeten to taste, add the mint as chopped up leaves, and then follow the package. Wines or other alcohol based liquids will boil out most of the alcohol before its canned.

• bristlingacres
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I saw the recipes on the Pomona website. I'm a little nervous about experimenting as I'm so new to this (and I've never tried Pomona before).

Do you strain out the mint leaves or leave them in the jelly?

Astrid

• david52 Zone 6
    16 years ago

I strain them out, then you don't have to worry about getting the bits of mint evenly distributed.

There are some 'issues' with Pomona, some tricks to getting the stuff to dissolve quickly and conveniently. Ken uses a blender / food processor to mix it up with some of the juice, before adding it to the rest of the preparing jelly juice, I believe. I haven't tried that, but I'd bet it works well.