Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rosegarden3

Wild grapes?

rosegarden3
10 years ago

I'm not sure where to post this so if I'm in the wrong place please advise..

These are growing on a tall fence not far from me. Surrounding an old abandoned wearhouse. To me they looked like grape leaves so I did some reasurch online and they look like they are wild grapes. What do you think?

Comments (9)

• rosegarden3
    Original Author
    10 years ago

These are the tendrils.

• rosegarden3
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The seeds.

• dgkritch
    10 years ago

I'm no expert, but grapes would be my first guess as well.
    Do you have an Extension office nearby? They may be able to identify them for you. Take in a clipping of leaves (several on a stem), fruit, and maybe a photo of the larger plant.

Good luck.

Deanna

• malna
    10 years ago

I don't know where you are in Zone 5, so your wild grapes may be different than mine (and that sure is what they look like - no other vines around here resemble grapes). No wild Vitis sp. are poisonous from all the research I did a while back, but most of the ones I have growing up my trees and across my phone lines (despite my best efforts and a lot of chain sawing and lopping) are not edible. The wildlife love them, but they are not something I want to eat.

I agree with Deanna - check with your local Agricultural Agent at the Extension office.

• theforgottenone1013 (SE MI zone 5b/6a)
    10 years ago

All wild grapes are edible. The only plant that could resemble wild grapes in both form and fruit is Menispermum canadense aka Canadian Moonseed but that is definitely not what you have. Privet berries also look similar but obviously privet is a shrub, not a vine. Your grape is probably Vitis riparia aka Riverbank grape. It's one of the most common wild grapes.

Rodney

Here is a link that might be useful: Vitis riparia Images

• rosegarden3
    Original Author
    10 years ago