Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plantsandyarn

Are My Home-canned Tomatoes Going to Kill Someone???

PlantsAndYarn
11 years ago

Hi,

This is my first year at canning. I did my best to following instructions, but know I made a couple of mistakes. Now I am totally paranoid that I am going to make sick or kill someone with my tomatoes.

I used the Ball canning Discovery Kit. I blanched, peeled, cut the tomatoes. I put the chunks in a strainer as I cut them. Crushed a few in the juice, then boiled it, stirring while slowly continuing to add the rest of the tomatoes a handful at a time. Brought back to a boil, then simmered for 5 min after they were all in the pot. Dipped all pint jars in boiling water, then stored in preheated oven at 200 degrees until I needed them. Kept all rings & lids in boiled water. I put 1 tablespoon of bottled lemon juice in each very hot jar just before filing with tomatoes.

Batch #1 was done about 11 days ago. I filled 3 pints with tomatoes with 1/2 in headspace. Removed air with the little tool that came in kit. Put lids & rings on. Boiled them for 40 min, then let sit in water with heat off & lid on for 5 more min before removing. Placed on towel, then covered with another towel and let sit for 24 hrs. While 1st batch was boiling, I let the remaining liquid & crushed chunks cook down like a thin sauce. Put this in 4th pint & processed. Batch #2 was done the same way, 24 hrs ago. Got 5 pints tomatoes, 1 pint sauce.

Batch #1 mistakes -- I don't think I wiped off the first 2 pints before putting on lids & rings. There was no food or juice on them.