Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeanwedding

will someone please post the Squash relish ?receipe

I did the one in the Ball book.

Now I want to use up some of my several bags of baby carrots...

I see the Linsey Lucious recipe. I want to print it out...

But every time I copy and paste it it show the dark background. I dont want to waste that much ink.

I am still a newbie mac user...

Some can someone please post the recipe so I can print it out....Got the zukes shredded

want a permanent copy and scribbling it hurriedly is hard to read and takes too much time and running

back and forth between the LR and kitchen is too much.. LOl

Thanks

Jean

Comments (5)

• readinglady
    12 years ago

I was confused by your post as you discussed using up carrots but asked for a squash relish. It's also helpful to know the specific address for the recipe you'd like re-formatted rather than having to search it out.

I think this is what you were looking for:

Zucchini Relish
    (an homage to Muriel and Linda Lou)

10 cups zucchini, peeled or not, cored, seeded and either ground (who has a grinder anymore?) or shredded (which I much prefer)
    3 cups onions, peeled, ends removed and grated or finely chopped
    2 cups carrots, ground or shredded
    1 red pepper, seeded, cored and finely chopped
    1 cup mixed hot peppers, seeded, cored and finely chopped (or one green pepper if you're a wuss)
    4 cloves garlic, peeled and minced
    5 tablespoons canning/pickling salt
    2 1/2 cups cider vinegar
    3 cups sugar*
    1/2 teaspoon black pepper
    2 teaspoons mustard seeds (I used yellow--brown would be spicier)
    2 teaspoons celery seeds
    3/4 teaspoon tumeric

Combine all of the shredded/chopped vegetables with the salt in a large, non-metallic bowl. Cover and refrigerate overnight. The next day, drain very well. (Some people choose to rinse the mixture to remove more of the salt, but I like my pickled relishes a little on the salty side!)