Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mstywoods

Advice - I canned tomatoes without lemon juice

mstywoods
12 years ago

Hi. I'm a member of the RMG and someone there recommended I check in with this group for advice.

I'm a newbie canner, so when I canned up some tomatoes a couple of weeks ago, I didn't realize I needed to add lemon juice before processing in the water bath. So they are just straight tomatoes and juice, or some jars with onions and peppers mixed in. Do I throw them all out? Or can I safely use some of them by a certain length of time? An RMG'er suggested taking some out of the jars and putting them into baggies to freeze. Other than that, do I need to just start from scratch again?

Thanks for any expert advice!!

Marj

Comments (12)

• digdirt2
    12 years ago

or some jars with onions and peppers mixed in.

Those you will need to pitch IMO as they should have been pressure canned to begin with. There is no way to safely BWB process mixed low-acid vegetables unless you add a large amount (like 1 cup) of acid (vinegar, lemon juice, etc.) as one would with salsa.

The plain tomatoes - it is your choice. Personally I would toss them since it is far too late to either reprocess or freeze them and I'm not comfortable with the associated risk. But others wouldn't think twice about keeping them. If you do then I strongly recommend they be very well cooked prior to eating them so that at least any toxins will be neutralized.

Prior to 1976 most canned their tomatoes with no added acid. Since the research done then the guideline has required the acid to be added but some still choose to ignore the guidelines.

If you are going to be canning then it is well worth the time to become familiar with the current guidelines or to restrict your canning to the recipes/instructions in the current Ball Blue Book.

Dave

PS: what is RMG?

Here is a link that might be useful: NCHFP Guidelines

• mstywoods
    Original Author
    12 years ago