Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lolear

lid did not seal - safe to eat?

lolear
13 years ago

I'm still very new at canning. Yesterday I canned some crushed tomatoes. One of the jars did not seal properly. When I checked the seals, about 13 hours after canning, I put the one improperly sealed jar in the fridge. Would they be safe to eat after sitting at room temp for 13 hours, or should I pitch them?

Thanks!

Laura

Comments (7)

• denninmi
    13 years ago

Personally, I wouldn't be afraid of them if they only sat 13 hours at room temperature. Even though not sealed, they were boiling and then very hot for probably an hour, and, as long as you didn't open them during that period, they should be relatively sterile from the heat treatment.

And, it's tomatoes, not like they'd grow botulism, probably worst case scenario after a day or two they would either get moldy or fermented if they did have microbes growing in them.

Now, if it were canned meat or a prepared dish that includes meat, I'd say no, don't risk it.

Let's see what others say.

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

I'd agree they are probably fine. Just use them up quickly. Next time I wouldn't wait so long to check the lids though. Doesn't take but just a minute to walk by the jars and tap the lids to see. ;)

Dave

• Linda_Lou
    13 years ago

If you put in the fridge you can eat them up in a day or two or open the jars, take out a bit and freeze them in the jars.
    You could reprocess, but a lot of energy for 2 jars.

• penserosa
    13 years ago