Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mary_bendel

Filling gaps in pressure cooker

Mary Bendel
10 years ago

I only have 5 pints of peppers left to process in my pressure canner. I am assuming I need to fill the gaps with empty jars to keep the others upright. Do I need to use lids on the empty jars (that will be filled with water)? I hate to waste the lids if I don't have to. I know this is a dumb question, but I'm new at this. Thanks!

Comments (7)

• digdirt2
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

If you are using the standard 2-3" of water in the pressure canner then you shouldn't have to worry about jars falling over. I have never had a jar lay over on its side even if processing only 1 jar.

So no, there is no requirement for filling the empty spaces. I suppose you can if you wish but the jars would be to be filled with water and capped.

Of more concern would be if you have 3 already filled jars sitting on the counter, cooling, while waiting on the pressure canner? They need to be filled and capped only when they are ready to go into the canner so they are still boiling hot when they go into the canner or the processing time isn't sufficient.

Dave

• Mary Bendel
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thanks Dave. I keep the ones waiting in the oven set at 250. I process (not intentionally) at 14 pounds pressure. I couldn't get the pressure down to 11 pounds, so I just let it go for 35 minutes at 14. Do you think that is sufficient?

• Mary Bendel
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Because I wasn't sure, the second batch is going for 40 minutes at 13 and a half pounds of pressure. Each jar also has a tsp. of lemon juice.

• digdirt2
    10 years ago

I guess I don't understand why not just resolve the issues you are having so it can be done the right way? Pressure canning has a learning curve to it and takes time and practice - preferably without using foods. But it can be done with patience and practice.