Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michelelc_gw

drying small peppers in a dehydrator

michelelc
13 years ago

I am going to dry some cayenne and thai chili peppers in my dehydrator. This is my first time doing this, and I am wondering if I need to cut the peppers up first, or dry them whole since they are so small?? Thanks. Michele

Comments (8)

• gardendawgie
    13 years ago

these are the easiest peppers to dry. no need for a dehydrator with these peppers. I string them up with a strong thread and needle. you might try some dental floss for thread. Just hang them in a room. The extra heat of a dehydrator will only take away some flavors.

If you want to dry them fast you can slit them in half top to bottom and lay them out in the sunshine open side toward the sun. they should dry in one day that way.

However, I find the best way to preserve the fresh flavor is to immediately make a hot sauce. Just add to vinegar and grind them up in a blender or food processor and put into a bottle. instant hot sauce.

The vinegar preserves.

• digdirt2
    13 years ago

Great advice from denninmi on putting the dehydrator outside (or at least in another room). Learned that the hard way. ;)

Dave

• michelelc
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks everyone! I don't have a garage or an outside building but I will start them outside this morning and move them into the basement at night if they aren't dry yet! Thanks for the warning, I never would have known. Also, does anyone have a good recipe for some hot sauce??

• spiced_ham
    13 years ago

I give them a quick chop in half and put the dehydrator in the bathroom with the fan on for the fumes. They are usually dry over night.

• judydel
    13 years ago

I dry my hot peppers whole in the dehydrator. I put the dehydrator on my kitchen counter near an open window and the fumes don't bother us. We do have a large kitchen though with good ventilation.