Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
juliet103

two recipes same canner

juliet103
10 years ago

Hi,
I am new to canning and have read A LOT from reliable sources, but may have overlooked this information. I have a large water bath canner-the usual I guess, 7 pints. Two questions:
1.) a. May I safely can two recipes with the same processing time in the same canner at the same time?
b. May I remove jars with a lesser processing time as long as the water does not leave a full rolling boil?

2.) May I reuse the water for a new recipe after I have processed a different recipe?

Many thanks!

Comments (10)

• 2ajsmama
    10 years ago

1a. Yes
    1b. No - taking the lid off will result in a small drop in pressure/temperature that could cause seal failures, and you're also likely to burn yourself with the steam while removing the jars (assuming you can even tell which jars are the ones you want to remove).
    2. Yes

• readinglady
    10 years ago

There's no reason why you can't process different products with the same processing time simultaneously. I would not place jars with a lesser processing time in the same canner with those having a longer processing time because I think attempting to remove those jars while the water is at a full boil is fraught with risk, not to mention those jars would not benefit from the recommended wait time at the end of processing.

You may reuse the water.

Carol

• 2ajsmama
    10 years ago

Deleting duplicate - I hit the Back button and it reposted!

This post was edited by ajsmama on Wed, Sep 18, 13 at 21:58

• NilaJones
    10 years ago

If you are doing pints, you probably are canning them for 10-25 minutes, depending on the recipe, right?

It's not that big a deal to just do two separate batches, putting the second one in as soon as you pull the first one out.