Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wiringman

harvesting onions

wiringman
14 years ago

do you harvest the onions before the frost?

we have a frost coming Monday night and i do not want to lose my onions.

i would like to get more growth on some of them.

can i cover them and let them grow some more?

Dean

Comments (14)

• dgkritch
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I harvest when the tops die back on their own.
    If you still have nice, green tops, cover and see how you do!

If the tops are turning brown, it's time to harvest anyway, frost or no frost, they aren't growing any more.

Deanna

• prairie_love
    14 years ago

Deanna, how do you dry out your onions? I've been growing onions for two or three years and I feel I end up tossing too many over the winter. I really don't think I have them dried properly.

Ann

• calliope
    14 years ago

I do lots of onions and other veggies in the onion family like shallots, leeks and garlic. Usually I do my onion from seed, because too many of the onion sets one buys on the retail market don't bulb up properly and it has to do with when the sets are harvested from the fields for marketing.

There are onions for all localities and the most important thing is to buy onions meant to be grown where you are growing (long day vs. short day).

As dgkritch says, if the tops are brown, you dig them up regardless of the calendar, as they are done growing. (Actually, they'll start again from the bulb in the ground but that growing cycle is over).

Yes, I have covered onions for frost, but if the freeze is hard or long, you may as well harvest beforehand.

As for the keeping qualities there are onions meant for keeping and those meant for immediate use who do not keep well, regardless of how you do it.

The big, juicy sweet onions don't usually keep well. If you want winter keepers, look for varieties listed as storing well. I grow both types, one to harvest and eat from the garden, and one for keeping over winter.