Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thecurious1_gw

Garlic infused oils?

thecurious1
17 years ago

Hi All- today must be my day to find strange recipes. If the "oven preserves" wernt enough, I was looking for infused oils recipes and came across this:

I have been preparing garlic infused oil for many years. However, I have never just placed garlic in cold oil as so many do, granted there are few incidents, but one is too many.

I place the oil I am going to infuse in a large dutch oven in the oven, I bring up the oven heat to 200 degrees and when the oil reaches that temperature I add the garlic cloves.

I roast the garlic for at least an hour, sometimes longer. The garlic actually carmelizes somewhat but retains its shape.

I can the oil in pint jars, adding plenty of the cloves to each jar.

It then goes into a waterbath for canning and the lids are tightened. I check every lid to make sure it is fully sealed before storing.

This is the only truly safe way to infuse oil. I don't like to process it in vinegar because it often turns blue. Not attractive.

Is this safe?

Comments (6)

• readinglady
    17 years ago

About as safe as Russian Roulette.

It is true there is a recommended method for heating infused oils, the idea being that heating drives off the water which provides an attractive harbor for botulism spores. However, it's still a low-acid environment and the recommendation is that the heat-infused garlic oil should be refrigerated and kept no longer than a month. It certainly isn't canned.

This approved method was developed by Ellie Topp, a Canadian home economist and microbiologist. The brochure below provides specifics.

Carol

Here is a link that might be useful: Flavoured Oils Brochure

• Linda_Lou
    17 years ago

There are some pretty scary stories, for sure ! I hear all sorts of crazy things.