Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bananastand

Can I can this recipe?

bananastand
12 years ago

I am new to the harvest forum but not new to Gardenweb. I look forward to learning from all of you! First of all, reading a few posts here has me worried about canning any of my tomatoes. This is my first ever experience canning. I'm very excited to try it but don't want my first effort to be a waste. All my toms are all late harvest and some had cracking, etc. In their defense, they have been off the vine for less than a week and never frosted that I know of. They got covered well on all nights with frost warnings. I washed each one with a vegetable brush in lightly soapy water and rinsed well. Just got done processing all of them tonight (removing skins, chopping, etc) and would be very sad if I can't can them. I know I can always freeze, but I just got a canner from Granite Gear and I'm really excited to try it out!

OK, that aside-- about half of my tomatoes were less ripe than I'd like... greenish if you will. I would like to try and use them in this recipe I found for green tomatoes. Think this will work for canning? Oh also P.S..... what does BBB stand for? Seems many of you get recipes there. Thanks!

Recipe: I would scale this up to reflect about 4-5 cups of greenish tomatoes. (Any idea how many cups to a pound?)

1 medium Vidalia onion, sliced 1/2 inch thick

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for brushing

Salt and freshly ground pepper

1 pound green, unripe tomatoes

2 tablespoons chopped cilantro

1 large red tomato, cored and coarsely chopped

1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

Light a grill. Brush the onion slices with olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Grill the onion slices and the green tomatoes over high heat, turning once, until nicely charred; about 6 minutes for the onion and 8 minutes for the tomato.