Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
veicken

Need tomato advice

veicken
10 years ago

Hello all, I am new to canning (this is my third year/harvest). Before I began my canning adventures I took a class from Chef Rosetta Constatino (cookbook author, Italian Chef extraordinaire) on canning your gardens fresh tomatoes. She had her very old, non English speaking Italian mother as her assistant. Anyways they taught the class and she had us score the tomatoes, blanch, shock in ice water, peel and seed and stuff into the sterilized jars. We then BWB for 45 minutes. So, that's how I've been doing it ever since (three years) with no problems. I just learned that citric acid should be added. I'm terrified now, and I just canned about 75 lbs of tomatoes in this way and now I'm terrified. I never even questioned her process because she is professional who has obviously been doing it this way for decades. Anyways is there anyway to salvage this batch of canned tomatoes? Can I just put the jars in my pressure canner and pressure can them as is? Please advise. I want to email her asking her about the process she teaches, but I have a feeling all she would say that's how she and her family have been doing it for years. Help :(

Comments (10)

• myfamilysfarm
    10 years ago

Many generations didn't use the citric acid, but with the newer guidelines citric is added.

I don't know why she scored the tomatoes and then peeled, unless she uses paste tomatoes that might have tougher skins (you get tougher skins the longer the plant has produced).

I never used it until this year, and would not have worried about it. This year I realized that the guidelines had changed over the years.

I think it's one of those judgement calls.

• 2ajsmama
    10 years ago

PCing calls for the citric acid now so you're going to have to open the jars to add that. How long ago did you BWB them (that's a lot of tomatoes - you didn't do them all yesterday did you?)?

• readinglady
    10 years ago