Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cannond_gw

Linda Lou, help with fermenting, please.

cannond
11 years ago

Linda Lou, if you're out there, can you tell me what you know about safe procedures to ferment salsa?

I've been fermenting salsa for a few years, but recently I read that listeria might be a problem.

My recipe calls for two tablespoons of salt for every quart of salsa, or;

1/4 cup of whey and one tablespoon of salt, fermenting three days on the countertop, then refrigerating.

What, if any, are the guidelines on this? My green tomatoes have ripened in the pantry and I'd like to proceed.

Thanks,

Deborah

Comments (14)

• digdirt2
    11 years ago

What, if any, are the guidelines on this?

There are none. It is a do at your own risk procedure. They do address kefir:

Kefir is generally considered to be safe due to the lack of evidence of foodborne illness events related to it. Properly fermented kefir (pH less than 4.5) inhibits many pathogens, but not for Escherichia coli, Listeria monocytogenes, Salmonella spp., and Yersinia enterocolitica. Care therefore must be taken in the home fermentation of kefir to prevent the access or growth of these microorganisms.

Otherwise there are no approved, tested guidelines for fermenting salsa. Check out all the publications on both issues - fermenting and making salsa available on the NCHFP website. That is what Linda Lou teaches. Lots of "do NOT dos" in all those publications.

I know this is not what you want to hear and I'm sorry. And if you only want to hear it from Linda Lou you can email her directly via the contact on her personal page.

Dave

• cannond
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Dave, I didn't find the Kefir on their site, but I did find the yoghurt. I'm not certain I'm reading it correctly. Are they saying making yoghurt at home is dangerous, i.e. e coli, yersinia, etc.?

As far as the salsa goes, have they tested it and found it dangerous, or have they declined testing because of lack of interest?